Pelosi Announces 116th Congress Committee Chair Recommendations

December 12, 2018
Press Release
Washington, D.C. – Speaker-designate Nancy Pelosi announced that the Steering & Policy Committee has recommended the following Chairs to lead committees in the 116th Congress to be approved by the Democratic Caucus.

“The American people spoke and elected a Congress committed to openness, accountability and unity, and the new Democratic committee chairs will deliver on that promise,” said Speaker-designate Nancy Pelosi.  “Our Democratic Chairs bring strong leadership, unparalleled expertise and an unwavering commitment to deliver For The People to their critical work on behalf of hard-working families.  By harnessing the energy, dynamism and diversity of the Democratic Caucus, they will use their gavels to bring transformative change that honors our responsibility to build a better future for all Americans.”

  • Agriculture: Collin Peterson of Minnesota
  • Armed Services: Adam Smith of Washington
  • Education & Labor: Bobby Scott of Virginia
  • Foreign Affairs: Eliot Engel of New York
  • Homeland Security: Bennie Thompson of Mississippi
  • Judiciary: Jerrold Nadler of New York
  • Natural Resources: Raúl Grijalva of Arizona
  • Oversight & Government Reform: Elijah Cummings of Maryland
  • Science, Space & Technology: Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas
  • Small Business: Nydia Velázquez of New York
  • Transportation & Infrastructure: Peter DeFazio of Oregon
  • Veterans’ Affairs: Mark Takano of California