Pelosi Announces Appointments to Rules Committee

January 4, 2019
Press Release
Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced new appointments to the House Rules Committee today, which were approved by the House Democratic Caucus this morning.

“The American people have spoken, and delivered a new Democratic Congress that will be transparent, ethical and committed to advancing new ideas that drive progress in their lives,” said Speaker Nancy Pelosi.  “We are thrilled to appoint these outstanding Democratic Members to the Rules Committee, where their leadership will be absolutely critical to our mission to usher in a new era of clean government that honors the consensus of the American people, and to give the American people a fresh beginning after the most closed Congress in history.  Guided by the deep, strategic leadership of Chairman Jim McGovern, our Members will bring a powerful voice and great experience to the table, as we work to restore the People’s House to the American people.”

In addition to Chairman McGovern, the Democratic Committee Members are:

  • Congressman Alcee Hastings of Florida
  • Congresswoman Norma Torres of California
  • Congressman Jamie Raskin of Maryland
  • Congresswoman Mary Gay Scanlon of Pennsylvania
  • Congressman Joe Morelle of New York
  • Congresswoman Donna Shalala of Florida