Speaker Nancy Pelosi

U.S. House of Representatives

Pelosi Announces Members of the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group

May 18, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced today the Members of the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group for the 116th Congress:

“The United States and Mexico share more than a border, but a common history and shared values that have been essential to securing peace, prosperity and hope for the people of both nations,” said Speaker Nancy Pelosi.  “It is a privilege to name Members to the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group for the 116th Congress. Our Members bring their deep knowledge and firm values to the critical mission of ensuring that this essential bilateral relationship remains strong and effective today and into the future.  Guided by the clear vision and leadership of Chairman Henry Cuellar, these outstanding Members will work tirelessly to expand opportunity, advance equality and ensure prosperity on both sides of the border.”

“I want to thank Speaker Nancy Pelosi for the honor of being named the chairman of the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group,” said Chairman Henry Cuellar.  “As chairman, I will continue my work in protecting and improving our partnerships with Mexico.  It is critical for America’s economic, cultural and security interests to maintain our relationship with our southern neighbor.  Mexico is the second-largest buyer of U.S. goods, the third-biggest consumer of U.S. agricultural products and America’s third-most-important trading partner.  Our country will be stronger and safer when we work together to find solutions to today’s problems.”

The new Democratic Members of the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group are:

  • Congressman Henry Cuellar of Texas – Chair
  • Congressman Lou Correa of California
  • Congressman Vicente Gonzalez of Texas
  • Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee of Texas
  • Congresswoman Veronica Escobar of Texas
  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California
  • Congressman Salud Carbajal of California