Pelosi Names Conferees to FISA Conference

May 28, 2020
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi today named House Democrats to serve on a conference committee of the House and Senate versions of the USA FREEDOM Reauthorization Act, reauthorizing portions of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA).

“FISA is a pillar of our national security, and its reauthorization has traditionally been bipartisan,” said Speaker Nancy Pelosi.  “Two months ago, the House passed our strong FISA bill on an overwhelmingly bipartisan 278-136 basis – with the support of two-thirds of House Democrats and two-thirds of House Republicans – and sent it to the Senate, which made it even more protective of civil liberties.  Unfortunately, House Republicans prioritized politics over our national security and rejected this improved bill that keeps America safe and protects their privacy.  Now, our Conferees will go to Conference to finalize a strong FISA Reauthorization that reflects the views of all Members of our Caucus.  We look forward to Leader McConnell appointing his conferees immediately so that the House and Senate can resolve our differences expeditiously.”

The House Democratic Conferees to the conference committee are: 

  • Chairman Jerrold Nadler, Committee on the Judiciary 
  • Chairman Adam Schiff, Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
  • Chair Zoe Lofgren, Senior Member of the Committee on the Judiciary and Chair of Committee on House Administration