Pelosi Announces Committee Memberships

December 12, 2006
Press Release
Washington, D.C. - Speaker-designate Nancy Pelosi announced today that the Democratic Steering Committee recommended that Members be appointed to the: Ways and Means Committee, Energy and Commerce Committee, Financial Services Committee, Armed Services Committee, and Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.  The Steering Committee also appointed freshmen Members to at least one committee.

'This distinguished group of Members will be instrumental in Democrats' efforts to take American in a New Direction that increases security, opportunity, and prosperity, while restoring civility and integrity to the Congress,' Pelosi said.  'These Members will be a strong voice for all Americans, not just the privileged few.'

The new Committee members are:

Ways and Means Committee:

  • Congressman Earl Blumenauer of Oregon
  • Congressman Ron Kind of Wisconsin
  • Congressman Bill Pascrell of New Jersey
  • Congresswoman Shelley Berkley of Nevada
  • Congressman Joe Crowley of New York
  • Congressman Kendrick Meek of Florida
  • Congressman Chris Van Hollen of Maryland
  • Congresswoman Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania
  • Congressman Artur Davis of Alabama

Energy and Commerce Committee:

  • Congresswoman Jane Harman of California
  • Congressman Leonard Boswell of Iowa
  • Congresswoman Darlene Hooley of Oregon
  • Congressman Anthony Weiner of New York
  • Congressman Jim Matheson of Utah
  • Congressman G.K. Butterfield of North Carolina
  • Congressman Charlie Melancon of Louisiana
  • Congressman-elect Baron Hill of Indiana

Financial Services Committee:

  • Congressman-elect Joe Donnelly of Indiana
  • Congressman-elect Keith Ellison of Minnesota
  • Congressman-elect Ron Klein of Florida
  • Congressman-elect Tim Mahoney of Florida
  • Congressman-elect Ed Perlmutter of Colorado
  • Congressman Albio Sires of New Jersey
  • Congressman-elect Charlie Wilson of Ohio

Armed Services Committee:

  • Congresswoman-elect Nancy Boyda of Kansas
  • Congressman-elect Joe Courtney of Connecticut
  • Congressman-elect Brad Ellsworth of Indiana
  • Congresswoman-elect Gabby Giffords of Arizona
  • Congresswoman-elect Kirsten Gillibrand of New York
  • Congressman-elect Hank Johnson of Georgia
  • Congressman-elect Patrick Murphy of Pennsylvania
  • Congressman-elect Joe Sestak of Pennsylvania

Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:

  • Congresswoman Grace Napolitano of California
  • Congressman Dan Lipinski of Illinois
  • Congressman-elect Michael Arcuri of New York
  • Congressman-elect Bruce Braley of Iowa
  • Congressman-elect Chris Carney of Pennsylvania
  • Congressman-elect John Hall of New York
  • Congresswoman-elect Mazie Hirono of Hawaii
  • Congressman-elect Steve Kagen of Wisconsin
  • Congressman-elect Jerry McNerney of California
  • Congressman-elect Harry Mitchell of Arizona
  • Congressman-elect Heath Shuler of North Carolina
  • Congressman-elect Zack Space of Ohio

The Steering Committee also appointed the following freshmen Members to the following committees:

Agriculture Committee:

  • Congressman-elect Tim Walz of Minnesota

Education and Workforce Committee:

  • Congressman-elect Jason Altmire of Pennsylvania
  • Congressman-elect Phil Hare of Illinois
  • Congressman-elect Dave Loebsack of Iowa
  • Congressman-elect John Sarbanes of Maryland
  • Congresswoman-elect Carol Shea-Porter of New Hampshire
  • Congressman-elect John Yarmuth of Kentucky

Government Reform Committee:

  • Congressman-elect Paul Hodes of New Hampshire
  • Congressman-elect Chris Murphy of Connecticut

Homeland Security Committee:

  • Congresswoman-elect Yvette Clarke of New York

Judiciary Committee:

  • Congressman-elect Steve Cohen of Tennessee

The Steering Committee agreed to continue the Democratic Caucus resolution temporarily removing Congressman William Jefferson of Louisiana from the Ways and Means Committee until the ongoing investigation is resolved.

The full Democratic Caucus will vote on these nominations.