Pelosi Announces Memberships for Appropriations Committee and Other Committees

December 13, 2006
Press Release
Washington, D.C. - Speaker-designate Nancy Pelosi announced today that the Democratic Steering Committee recommended that 10 new Members be appointed to the Appropriations Committee.  The Steering Committee also recommended the appointment of additional Members to the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Financial Services Committee, Education and Workforce Committee, and Small Business Committee.

'With the intellect and integrity of this diverse group of Members, House Democrats will lead our country in a New Direction that will turn the American Dream into reality for all, not just the privileged few,' Pelosi said. 'They are ready to govern and address the real priorities of the American people.'

The new Committee members are:

Appropriations Committee:

  • Congresswoman Barbara Lee of California
  • Congressman Tom Udall of New Mexico
  • Congressman Adam Schiff of California
  • Congressman Michael Honda of California
  • Congresswoman Betty McCollum of Minnesota
  • Congressman C.A 'Dutch' Ruppersberger of Maryland
  • Congressman Tim Ryan of Ohio
  • Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida
  • Congressman Ben Chandler of Kentucky
  • Congressman-elect Ciro Rodriguez of Texas

Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:

  • Congressman-elect Nick Lampson of Texas

Financial Services Committee:

  • Congressman Lincoln Davis of Tennessee

Education and Workforce Committee:

  • Congresswoman Linda Sánchez of California

Small Business Committee:

  • Congressman William Jefferson of Louisiana

Pelosi also announced that she will recommend to the Democratic Caucus the following freshmen Members for the Rules Committee:

  • Congresswoman-elect Kathy Castor of Florida
  • Congresswoman-elect Betty Sutton of Ohio
  • Congressman-elect Peter Welch of Vermont

The full Democratic Caucus will vote on these nominations.