Speaker Nancy Pelosi

U.S. House of Representatives

Pelosi Announces Nominations for Chairs of Exclusive Committees and Rules and Budget Committees

December 5, 2006
Press Release
Speaker-designate Nancy Pelosi announced today that the Democratic Steering Committee nominated the Chairs of the four exclusive House Committees.  The Steering Committee unanimously nominated:

  • Congressman John Dingell of Michigan as Chairman of the Energy and Commerce Committee
  • Congressman David Obey of Wisconsin as Chairman of the Appropriations Committee
  • Congressman Charles Rangel of New York as Chairman of the Ways and Means Committee
  • Congressman Barney Frank of Massachusetts as Chairman of the Financial Services Committee.

Pelosi also announced her nomination of Congressman John Spratt of South Carolina as the Chairman of the Budget Committee and Congresswoman Louise Slaughter of New York as the Chairwoman of the Rules Committee.

'The Democratic Caucus, the Congress, and indeed, the nation will be well-served by the intellect and ideas of this team,' Pelosi said.  'They are certainly the best possible choices for these Chairmanships, with their wealth of experience, vast depths of knowledge, and serious commitments to the interests of all Americans, not just the privileged few.  I will be relying on their leadership, and I look forward to working closely with them, to take our nation in a New Direction.'

The full Democratic Caucus will vote tomorrow on these nominations.