Boehner Names Republican Members of Select Committee |

WASHINGTON, DC – House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) today named the seven Republican members of the Select Committee on the Events Surrounding the 2012 Terrorist Attack in Benghazi. The Select Committee also provides for five Democratic members, and those names will be released when provided by the House Minority Leader.  Boehner issued the following statement:

This investigation is about getting answers for the families of the victims and for the American people. These members have each demonstrated a commitment to this goal, and I have confidence that they will lead a serious, fact-based inquiry. As I have expressed to each of them, I expect this committee to carry out an investigation worthy of the American lives lost in Benghazi. I also urge my Democratic colleagues to treat this tragedy with the proper respect and appoint members so that we can finally, on a bipartisan basis, get answers, provide accountability, and help deliver justice. It is critical that this committee do its work in a focused, timely manner, so that the House can continue to make the economy and job creation its priorities.”

The Republican members of the Select Committee will be:

  • Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN)
  • Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC), Chairman
  • Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH)
  • Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS)
  • Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL)
  • Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL)
  • Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)