Boehner, Pelosi Announces Appointments to Office of Congressional Ethics |

Washington, D.C. – Speaker John Boehner and Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi today announced joint appointments to the board of the Office of Congressional Ethics.

“With these appointments, the Office of Congressional  Ethics will continue to be entrusted with an active role in the ethics enforcement process for the House of Representatives.  We thank these board members for their service and express our gratitude to them for their leadership,” Speaker Boehner and Leader Pelosi said.  “We also express our thanks and appreciation to retiring Board Alternate Former Congressman and Federal Judge Abner Mikva for his outstanding service to the House and to the country.”

The board members of the Office of Congressional Ethics are equally divided among Democrats and Republicans, with each party having three members and one alternate. The eight members of the board are:

Former CIA Director and former Congressman Porter J. Goss, R-FL, Chairman
Former Congressman David Skaggs, D-CO, Co-Chairman
Former Congresswoman Yvonne Brathwaite Burke, D-CA
Former House Chief Administrative Officer Jay Eagen
Former Congresswoman Karan English, D-AZ
Government Ethics Attorney and former chief of staff of Federal Election Commission, Allison Hayward
Former Congressman Mike Barnes, D-MD, Alternate
Former Congressman Bill Frenzel, R-MN, Alternate