WASHINGTON — Today, House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) appointed 24 House Republican lawmakers to serve on a bipartisan conference committee charged with producing final legislation to modernize our energy laws to create more American jobs and a stronger economy. The conference with Senate lawmakers will yield the first comprehensive energy package in close to 10 years.

Maximizing America’s energy potential is vital—not just for creating jobs and building our economy, but for strengthening America’s strategic leverage on the global stage,” Speaker Ryan said. “Unfortunately, outdated infrastructure and heavy-handed regulations are stopping us from achieving these goals. This legislation modernizes our energy infrastructure so we can address these and other urgent priorities for the country, from tackling California’s drought crisis to healing our forests in order to prevent wildfires.”

The Republican conferees for this legislation are:

Energy and Commerce Committee
Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI)
Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX)
Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY)
Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
Rep. Robert Latta (R-OH)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)
Rep. David McKinley (R-WV)
Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH)
Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX)
Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)

Natural Resources Committee
Chairman Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Rep. Don Young (R-AK)
Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA)
Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)

Science, Space, and Technology Committee
Chairman Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)

Agriculture Committee
Chairman Mike Conaway (R-TX)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)

Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Rep. Cresent Hardy (R-NV)
Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY)