House Takes Next Step to Get Opioid Legislation to President’s Desk |

WASHINGTON — Today, House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) appointed 21 House Republican lawmakers to serve on a bipartisan conference committee charged with producing final legislation to fight the nation’s opioid epidemic.

“We cannot let up on this,” Speaker Ryan said. “These members and their committees have led this charge, and we look forward to working with our Senate colleagues to get a bill to the president’s desk. It’s time to ensure our communities and families have the tools they need to put an end to this epidemic—it’s just that simple.”

Last week, the House passed 18 bills to fight, treat, and prevent opioid addiction. As Speaker Ryan announced this morning, House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) will serve on this conference committee and head up efforts to get a bill to the president's desk.

In addition, the House Republican conferees for this legislation are:

Judiciary Committee
Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA)
Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA)
Rep. Dave Trott (R-MI)
Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI)

Energy and Commerce Committee
Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI)
Rep. Joseph Pitts (R-PA)
Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY)
Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (R-IN)
Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN)

Education and the Workforce Committee
Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA)
Rep. Buddy Cater (R-GA)

Veterans Affairs Committee
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-IN)

Ways and Means Committee
Rep. Patrick Meehan (R-PA)
Rep. Bob Dold (R-IL)