Rep. Mike Conaway to Serve as House Ethics Committee Chairman in 113th Congress |

WASHINGTON, DC – House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) today announced that he has appointed Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX) to serve as Chairman of the House Ethics Committee for the 113th Congress. Conaway, a certified public accountant, has served on the Ethics Committee since 2009. Boehner released the following statement:

“Mike has all the tools to be an effective Ethics Committee chairman: he is well-respected on both sides of the aisle; he’s led investigations of public officials in the past; and he understands the importance of both education and enforcement of the rules. The American people have every right to expect the highest standards of conduct from their elected officials, and I’m confident that under Mike’s leadership the Ethics Committee will continue to be a guardian of their trust and a guarantor of accountability in the People’s House.”

NOTE: In addition to Chairman Conaway, the following Republicans will serve on the Ethics Committee:  Reps. Charlie Dent (R-PA), Trey Gowdy (R-SC), Pat Meehan (R-PA), and Susan Brooks (R-IN). Click here for a full list of House committee chairs and here for a full list of House GOP leaders in the 113th Congress.

# # # # #