Skip to main content

Washington, D.C. – Today, Speaker Kevin McCarthy (CA-20) announced who the House Officers will be in the House of Representatives for the 118th Congress. Cheryl L. Johnson will be returning as Clerk of the House, Catherine Szpindor will be returning as the Chief Administrative Officer of the House, Margaret Grun Kibben will be returning as the Chaplain of the House, and William McFarland will serve as the acting Sergeant at Arms of the House in the 118th Congress.

“Cheryl, Catherine, Margaret, and Bill will be instrumental in ensuring that the House runs smoothly under this Republican majority. They have shown that they can work under pressure and have the ability to unwaveringly serve the American people,” said Speaker McCarthy. “I also want to thank William Walker for his service to the House of Representatives and I wish him well in his future endeavors.”

Cheryl L. Johnson previously worked in the House of Representatives and was appointed as the Clerk for the House of Representatives on January 3, 2021. As the Clerk, Cheryl is responsible for organizing the Congressional calendar, sending and receiving messages from the Senate and White House, and completing the administrative functions of the House.

Catherine Szpindor has more than a decade of experience working as a staff officer in the House of Representatives. Catherine was sworn in as the Chief Administrative Officer for the House of Representative on January 3, 2021.  She is responsible for Member and Staff services, such as Finance, Procurement, Logistics, Information Technology, Human Resources and Training, Food Services, and additional business functions.  

Margaret Grun Kibben served as the 26th Chief of Chaplains in the United States Navy. Before that, she was the 18th Chaplain of the United States Marine Corps and the Deputy Chief of Chaplains. For her service in the military, she was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal, the Legion of Merit (two awards), the Bronze Star, the Meritorious Service Medal (three awards), and the Navy Commendation Medal (three awards). She is the 61st Chaplain of the United States House of Representatives and was previously sworn in on December 31, 2020.

Prior to his selection as acting Sergeant At Arms, William McFarland previously protected the campus as the Director of the Office of House Security in the House Sergeant at Arms and was the Director of Security for the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. He has served the Members, staff, and visitors of the Capitol Complex as a member of the United States Capitol Police.